In search of “The Perfect Dress” – for Buwan ng Wika

As of this date, I am 33 years 7 months and 22 days old – and I have never set foot at Baclaran, Philippines! (Well, not since Aug 20, 2015). The place is known for the popular Baclaran Church and it’s flea markets. It is literally a walk a way from home (if I am feeling a bit active), a tricycle away (If I am feeling rich at Php 50) and a jeepney away (If my thrifty self tells me so at Php 28).

So why haven’t I been there? Simple. I just wanted to be comfortable inside a mall. Now that I am staying at home, life has taught me to save every penny I have in my wallet for tomorrow there’s none! 🙂

Let’s start the journey!

Aug 20 after we dropped my daughter to school at 7.30am my husband and I decided to go to Baclaran to find THE perfect dress for her during their school’s presentation on Aug 21 – Buwan ng Wika. It is to celebrate the Philippine Language, food and all other things… Filipino 🙂

We went their via a jeepney ride at Php 8 per person. At 7.30 in the morning, the weather felt like it was already 12noon. Scorching, scorching… hot! Although, if you were to ask me, it WAS the perfect weather to go to that place. But the day we picked? Aug 20 was a Wednesday and is Baclaran Day.

Baclaran Church

Baclaran Church

Again, it’s simple. Baclaran Day is the day when all the church’s devotees visit the place to worship and pray. It is the busiest day amongst all days in Baclaran…and the chaos? I LOVE IT! So before my eye starts to shop I need to focus, focus, FOCUS! I need to find “the” dress for my daughter.

Since it was our first time, we asked the helpful ladies from Berma Mall, beside the church where we can find a Filipiniana costume for my daughter. They pointed out at GG Cruz Street at the back of the church.

The busy street of GG Cruz between 8.15am to 8.45am

The busy street of GG Cruz between 8.15am to 8.45am

I must tell you, from the outside of GG Cruz Street you can already spot all sorts of kids (and adults) Filipiniana Clothes from the whole street! YES! From the whole street! We didn’t went too far, we only have a few minutes to spare and on our fourth shop stop I found it! My kid’s dress!

Malou's Store at GG Cruz Street

Malou’s Store at GG Cruz Street

If only I can tell the owner I will be blogging about her place, she would have given me a bigger discount! LOL! But man, the owner sure looks fiesty early in the morning! She scared me! So, I got a discount of Php 50 and got a dress with matching slippers for only Php 550 – NOT BAD for such a pretty pretty dress! Here’s why, when my kid was younger we bought a very simple Filipiniana Dress for almost a thousand pesos at the mall! So this one is definitely  GOOD BUY!

Since, it was my first time and would really wanted to take advantage of the place, my husband and I prayed at the Church and ate at Lydia’s Lechon. We spent Php 205 for an order of Lechon (which for me is good for both me and my husband), Php 30 for rice per person and my pineapple juice.

Photo grabbed from Zomato.com

Photo grabbed from Zomato.com

Our meal

Our meal

Mandatory to take pictures everywhere we go!

Mandatory to take pictures everywhere we go!

Since it was my first time, I need to take a selfie. Hubby was trying to photobomb me. I guess the waiter won! Look at the left side of the pic! 🙂

Selfie

Selfie

It was such a perfect day! I was happy.

If you were to ask me, the icing on the cake was… when my daughter won! The award was “Pinakamagandang Kasuotan” translated as “The most beautiful Dress”. Here’s the actual photo of the awarding! Oh, I am a proud mom!

The actual awarding

The actual awarding

My little beauty queen

My little beauty queen

Hope you enjoyed my blog!

xoxo,

-iamalyssamarley-

3 thoughts on “In search of “The Perfect Dress” – for Buwan ng Wika

  1. Pingback: In search of “The Perfect Dress” – for Buwan ng Wika | iamalyssamarley

  2. Pingback: Where to Buy: United Nations Costume in Manila | iamalyssamarley

Leave a Reply

