A Review: iamalyssamarley goes to Kidzania

WARNING THIS BLOG POST CONTAINS A LOT OF PHOTOS. YOU’LL KNOW WHY IN THE END.

I haven’t hidden the fact that since I have resigned from my job we have been struggling financially, so moments such as these: field trips, family invites is always considered a blessing!

I have been having dibs on Kidzania (Malaysia) since the day I have researched about theme parks in Malaysia and was even more excited to learn that they have branched out here in Manila! I was just waiting for it to open for months, and months, and months! I couldn’t contain my happiness (for Alyssa) of course as soon as I learned that their school is having a field trip at… where else? Kidzania Manila and Miracle Art Museum. My daughter and I have marked the day we were going to that place and has been planning on what to do and visit! The excitement was really on the air!

To start the day, prior to the field trip I have lost my phone. Needless to say, the location of the bus going to these places where relocated. I never knew about these changes so when “A” and I reached EDSA and saw that there were no buses, I got sad for “A”. BUT as a mom, it shouldn’t stop me from making my daughter feel the excitement she has, right? Luckily, the place was near our house and we got there by taxi. We reached the place at 7:50am. The students were not there yet. As a mom, gave “A” a little treat over at McDonald’s.

Patiently waiting while having her french fries and orange juice

Patiently waiting while having her french fries and orange juice

I have to be in the photo too! Lipstick: MAC Whirl, dabbed MAC Velvet Teddy - that's the effect!

I have to be in the photo too! Lipstick: MAC Whirl, dabbed MAC Velvet Teddy – that was the effect I got!

Patiently waiting outside while Kidzania is still closed

Patiently waiting outside while Kidzania was still closed

Patiently waiting inside when it opened

Patiently waiting inside when it opened

In short, my daughter has been patiently waiting since 7:50am. She is 6 years old and I admire her patience. It was really tested during this day! We waited for a few minutes or so for everyone to fall in line, had the kids go inside and another few more minutes before the parents had to be with the kids! These were the only photos I can get.

At this point, I guess they were given 50 kidzos (kidzania money)

At this point, I guess they were given 50 kidzos each (Kidzania money)

My kid, still happy and patiently waiting in line

My kid, still happy and patiently waiting in line

Kidzania is teaching the kids “independence” – reason why they asked for the kids to line up and go inside the establishment first (without the parents), walk through the elevator and their first stop inside, line up at the bank. To be honest, I got a bit worried when the kids had to ride the elevator on their own and actually line up inside an establishment at Kidzania. I like the advocacy, but as a parent I had a – “Where are you taking my kid?” moment. 🙂 Me and all other moms had to rush and check, What’s going on? Where are you taking our kids? Why? because these kids might run without us and chances are they might get lost inside.

Good thing, I was wearing my running shoes that day, and caught up with

Good thing, I was wearing my running shoes that day, and caught up with “A” right before she’s done

I think this is an ATM Machine (We never get the chance to use)

I think this is an ATM Machine (We never get the chance to use it)

A firetruck?! How cool is that?!

A firetruck?! How cool is that?!

Myself and “most” of the parents do not know the rules inside Kidzania. There is a sign outside each “rooms” (sorry I do not know what it’s called) wherein you have to look at the number of kids allowed inside, whether to check for the minus or plus sign this is an indication where a child has to pay using their kidzos or get paid and another couple of info I just didn’t get the chance to ask and learn. That Kidzania moment was a complete blur for me.

Initially, each kids were given 50 kidzos and this is how it looks like

Initially, each kid were given 50 kidzos and this is how it looks like

Since they need 4 kids to go inside, these two cuties were patiently waiting outside

Since they need 4 kids to go inside, these two cuties were patiently waiting outside

Yey! and they were four. They were being briefed, but we couldn't really tell what's going on.

Yey! and they were four. They were being briefed, but we couldn’t really tell what’s going on.

They dressed up, and briefed again on what to do I think. Parents are not allowed inside, we can just watch our kids from the glass wall.

They dressed up, and briefed again on what to do I think. Parents are not allowed inside, we can just watch our kids from the glass wall.

After that moment, each kid earned 8 kidzos! There is a shop we quickly saw wherein you can buy any stuff using these kidzos, you have to have at least 40 kidzos to go in. Cool right? In a way, it is teaching the kids how to work hard for their money and buy something from that money. I honestly liked that idea.

From there, the lines started to build up. There were just a lot of school that day having their field trip that we literally had to line up for an hour. Second experience, the Cream-O (cookie) Factory

Our little cuties waiting patiently in line

Our little cuties waiting patiently in line

Briefing

Briefing

They were given a cookie after each session

They were given a cookie after each session

This is one of those “rooms” wherein you have to pay (in Kidzos). Basically, they are teaching kids how to be a cookie engineer. After this, we lined up at the pet store, waited for 45 minutes in line and was not allowed to go in when the school’s name was called. Kidzania is strict with that. The end of Kidzania experience.

Have I left you hanging on this post? I definitely did! In Filipino, it was really “bitin”. My kid was throwing a fit already while in line again waiting for the bus to the other location. I’m pretty sure, that’s also how she felt – bitin. The reason why I have posted a lot of photos is to show how a kid patiently awaits just to experience the fun inside Kidzania.

My review:

  1. Kidzania is really BIG! 2 – 3 hours is not enough inside for a kid to experience what it has to offer to fully understand the meaning of Independence, Money Making and Spending (and if there are others I have missed).
  2. I was impressed by how it looks on the inside. Picture worthy place.
  3. I was surprised by the establishments available for the kids to enjoy.
  4. It definitely didn’t just teach my child independence, but patience as well.
  5. I guess for a kid to fully enjoy and grasp what Kidzania is teaching the kid’s to learn is for them to actually spend at least a day inside.
  6. For the parents – there were a lot of restos, a fast food chain and a convenient store inside.

That’s all I could think of, knowing we are in a rush to line up and find something interesting for our kid to do. It was like in a game or Amazing Race! Seriously, my experience has been a blur.

So Kidzania, if ever this has reached you – we will come back. My kid has been talking about this place for days and days now and I wanted her to experience the fun this place has to offer. When that time comes, I will be blogging more about your place. In detail.

To the parents, it is worth visiting! Make sure to plan, plan plan!

  1. Plan a date without any school field trips going on. It can be stressful for a child also.
  2. Get a passport, I never knew what it was and the benefits of it. A parent inside has informed us that when you have a passport the “rooms” which will ask you to pay will have a discount. – That’s all I know.
  3. Visit on a weekday, it is much cheaper.
  4. Be there early!
  5. Be in groups, so you won’t have to wait in line – for a long time. A group of 4 – 6 kids is ok. Like a cousin’s day out will be a great idea!

My daughter’s reaction after we were asked to line up; was not allowed to go inside the pet shop and completely end the trip —  “I was not happy Mom! (Teary eyed, close to throwing a tantrum)” 😦

That’s all folks, as I was mending my daughter’s heart after this experience. Poor thing. I know, a lot of mom’s who were with us during that trip had the same experience too!

xoxo,

-iamalyssamarley-

5 thoughts on “A Review: iamalyssamarley goes to Kidzania

  1. Pingback: A Review: iamalyssamarley goes to Kidzania… again! | iamalyssamarley

Leave a Reply

